As of Oct 22, 2026
San Francisco Bay Area robotaxi services
As of Oct 22, 2026, 3 of the six tracked robotaxi services carry riders in the San Francisco Bay Area area: Tesla (supervised); Waymo (live); Zoox (live). Also tracked: Nuro (testing).
Data as of Oct 22, 2026 · page last changed · Changelog · Editorial policy
Robotaxi services in San Francisco Bay Area
Live: open to riders, no one in the driver’s seat. Supervised: riders carried with a safety driver or operator. Rolling out: riders added gradually. Testing: employees or early riders only. Coming soon: announced, not yet available. “—” means not disclosed. Methodology.
| Service | Status | Service area | Driverless miles | As of · primary source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Model Y with safety driver | Supervised | — | Not reported | Tesla Robotaxi site, Oct 21, 2026 CA DMV AV permit holders |
| Waymo Driverless, Waymo app | Live | — | — | Waymo FAQ, as of Oct 22 Waymo FAQ |
| Zoox Zoox Explorers (waitlist) | Live | Eastern half incl. Marina, North Beach, Embarcadero | — | Zoox Journal, Mar 23, 2026 Zoox Journal, Mar 23, 2026 |
| Nuro Supervised testing; launch expected 2026 | Testing | — | — | Nuro and Uber, as of Oct 22 Nuro-Lucid-Uber robotaxi |
Source: dmv.ca.gov, waymo.com, zoox.com, nuro.ai · data as of Oct 22, 2026 · method
San Francisco Bay Area figures
- Zoox: service area Eastern half incl. Marina, North Beach, Embarcadero (Zoox Journal, Mar 23, 2026)
Changes in San Francisco Bay Area
Dated events from the companies’ own posts. Follow this city (Atom feed); no email or account needed.
- Jul 21, 2026Tesla: Orlando and Tampa launch; Bay Area expands
- Mar 23, 2026Zoox: 350K+ riders, ~2M miles; SF area to quadruple
- Dec 2025Nuro: Supervised testing begins in Bay Area
Public records for San Francisco Bay Area
Regulator and company datasets that cover robotaxis in California.
How the services compare in San Francisco Bay Area
Status counts, vehicles and what each company publishes for this city, as of Oct 22, 2026.
- Supervised: 1 (Tesla)
- Live: 2 (Waymo, Zoox)
- Testing: 1 (Nuro)
| Service | How riders get it | Vehicle | Published for this city |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla | Model Y with safety driver | — | No city fleet, area or miles published Tesla Robotaxi site, Oct 21, 2026 |
| Waymo | Driverless, Waymo app | Jaguar I-PACE (5th-gen Driver); Ojai (6th-gen) in Phoenix, LA, SF | No city fleet, area or miles published Waymo FAQ, as of Oct 22 |
| Zoox | Zoox Explorers (waitlist) | Purpose-built robotaxi, no steering wheel | service area Eastern half incl. Marina, North Beach, Embarcadero Zoox Journal, Mar 23, 2026 |
| Nuro | Supervised testing; launch expected 2026 | Lucid Gravity with Nuro Driver | No city fleet, area or miles published Nuro and Uber, as of Oct 22 |
Source: sources listed on our sources page · data as of Oct 22, 2026 · method
Service history in San Francisco Bay Area
- Tesla: earliest dated event here Jul 21, 2026 (Orlando and Tampa launch; Bay Area expands); 1 dated event.
- Waymo: no dated San Francisco Bay Area event in the site data yet.
- Zoox: earliest dated event here Mar 23, 2026 (350K+ riders, ~2M miles; SF area to quadruple); 1 dated event.
- Nuro: earliest dated event here Dec 2025 (Supervised testing begins in Bay Area); 1 dated event.
Questions and answers
Can you ride a robotaxi in SF Bay Area?
Yes. As of Oct 22, 2026, Waymo, Zoox are live in SF Bay Area with no one in the driver’s seat. Status per service: Waymo live; Tesla supervised; Zoox live; Nuro testing.
Which robotaxi companies operate in SF Bay Area?
Waymo: Driverless, Waymo app (source: Waymo FAQ, as of Oct 22); Tesla: Model Y with safety driver (source: Tesla sources list (tracker.json has no per-row source)); Zoox: Zoox Explorers (waitlist) (source: Zoox Journal, Mar 23, 2026); Nuro: Supervised testing; launch expected 2026 (source: Nuro / Uber). As of Oct 22, 2026.
What is the latest robotaxi news in SF Bay Area?
Jul 21, 2026: Tesla: Orlando and Tampa launch; Bay Area expands.
Data for San Francisco Bay Area
Every row above comes from /data/tracker.json; dated events are in events.csv. CC BY 4.0. How to cite.
More cities
California crash reports filed with NHTSA, by month
California permit status
Permits that let each tracked company test, carry riders or charge fares in California. The DMV permits a company to test or deploy its vehicles; the CPUC separately permits carrying the public, and only deployment permits allow fares. "None listed" means the company does not appear on the CPUC autonomous vehicle permit page.
| Company | DMV testing with safety driver | DMV driverless testing | DMV deployment | CPUC passenger service permits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waymo | Yes | Yes (DMV lists its own approved areas) | Yes (DMV lists its own approved areas) | Drivered Pilot, Drivered Deployment, Driverless Pilot, Driverless Deployment (fares allowed) |
| Tesla | Yes | No | No | None listed |
| Zoox | Yes | Yes: Foster City and San Francisco, all hours, up to 45 mph | No | Drivered Pilot, Driverless Pilot (no fares) |
| May Mobility | Yes | No | No | None listed |
| Avride | No | No | No | None listed |
| Nuro | Yes | Yes: Santa Clara and San Mateo counties, all hours, up to 45 mph | Yes: San Mateo and Santa Clara counties, all hours, 25–35 mph | Drivered Pilot (no fares) |
Source: California DMV, Autonomous Vehicle Permit Holders · data as of checked Oct 23, 2026; driver list as of Oct 21, 2026, driverless list Apr 3, 2026, deployment list Nov 21, 2025
Source: CPUC, Autonomous Vehicle Program Permits Issued · data as of checked Oct 23, 2026